5. July 2022
Julia Kriegel

Stakeholder Engagement – How it started and what motivated us to do it?

VAST FORWARD is a digital service provider and remote structured network agency. Through our successful efforts since our founding in 2008, we are now managing over 800 digital projects per year for more than 60 clients in the communications and digital industries. Our close circle of the VAST FORWARD team is made up of a female-led project management team.

We are a fully remote team and also see our responsibility in the sustainable development of our organization. In the realm of sustainable business, we also want to drive change in the digital industry with our VAST GREEN initiative – for our measurable, long-term oriented contribution, towards a more sustainable future. 

VAST GREEN is based on our sustainability strategy, which we developed in 2021 together with Alyssa Jade McDonald-Bärtl. Our core team is now implementing the strategy in sprints using a specially developed process, our “framework”.

We focused on analyzing our own supply chain in the first stage from 2021, because almost all other steps in our implementation process are built upon it.
Thus, in the first sprint, we conducted an actual state analysis as well as a materiality analysis. In our “Supply Chain Working Group” we reviewed our status quo as well as our internal processes and derived sustainability criteria based on our findings.
Today, these results form the backbone of our sustainability reporting.

Following our agile working process, we then identified the relevant sustainability topics for VAST FORWARD and defined relevant, controllable criteria – revealing a wide variety of topics, ranging from “Green IT” to “Plants in the Office”.

The list of key criteria are relevant for the sustainable future of VAST FORWARD – and they are also the basis for review and coordination with our extended team, our stakeholders; our network of customers, partners, suppliers and experts. They all form an integral part of the VAST FORWARD supply chain and thus have an impact on our day-to-day business and on our corporate sustainability.

Specialist network, stakeholders, supply chain - How do we check and evaluate our supply chains concretely?

For the stakeholder and partner approach, we are supported by Andrea, who has been working in the field of IT and communication for many years. In close cooperation with the management and the supply chain working group, Andrea developed the basis and the procedure for the partner approach.

The result of the preparation with Andrea was a basis for discussion for the project management team, and a guideline for direct communication at eye level.
From our list of criteria, we prioritized 10 focus areas for the creation of a questionnaire. Andrea formulated a set of questions from these 10 areas, which were then tested internally before the survey. We then posed our network of specialists the questions about the criteria in short 1:1 interviews. The questions ranged from the general questions such as “Do you deal with sustainability in your company?” to the concrete application of “Green Coding”.

We learned a lot in the process and collected super exciting and, above all, insightful results, which we have published in summary form in our Impact Report.

We are excited about the next round of the survey and hope that we could inspire our network to think with us about sustainability in their personal and professional lives.

In any case, it brings us a lot of joy and a constant sense of achievement!
We Do Not Just Compensate!

 

RELATED ARTICLES

Apr 2022

VAST IMPACT REPORT

With our IMPACT Report, we want to create comparability and transparency about our CSR activities and, as an SME, we already meet European reporting standards.

Apr 2022

VAST GREEN gets
a strategy

How we shaped our sustainability strategy for VAST GREEN from our guiding principles together with Alyssa Jade McDonald-Baertl.

5. Juli 2022
Julia Kriegel

Stakeholder Ansprache – Wie kam es dazu und was hat uns dazu motiviert?

VAST FORWARD ist digitale Dienstleisterin und remote strukturierte Netzwerkagentur. Durch unsere erfolgreiche Arbeit seit der Gründung in 2008, verantworten wir heute 800 Digital-Projekte im Jahr für mehr als 60 Kunden der Kommunikations- und Digitalwirtschaft. Unser enger Kreis des VAST FORWARD Teams setzt sich aus einem 8-köpfigen, frauengeführten Projektmanagement-Team zusammen.

Wir sind ein vollständig remote agierendes Team und sehen unsere Verantwortung auch in einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung unserer Organisation. Im Bereich des nachhaltigen Wirtschaftens wollen wir mit unserer VAST GREEN Initiative auch Veränderungen in der Digitalbranche anstoßen – für unseren messbaren, langzeitorientierten Beitrag, hin zu einer nachhaltigeren Zukunft.

VAST GREEN basiert auf unserer Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie, die wir 2021 gemeinsam mit Alyssa Jade McDonald-Bärtl entwickelt haben. Die Implementierung der Strategie verfolgen wir als gesamtes Kernteam in einem eigens entwickelten Prozess, unserem “Framework”, in Sprints.
Wir fokussierten uns im ersten Schritt, seit 2021, auf die Analyse unserer eigenen Lieferkette, denn darauf bauen fast alle weiteren Schritte in unserem Implementierungsprozess auf.
So haben wir im ersten Sprint eine Ist-Analyse, sowie eine Wesentlichkeitsanalyse durchgeführt. In der “Arbeitsgruppe Lieferkette” wurden der Status Quo als auch interne Prozesse hinterfragt und daraus Nachhaltigkeitskriterien abgeleitet. Die Ergebnisse und erfassten Grundlagen bilden heute das Rückgrat unserer Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung.

In unserem agilen Arbeitsprozesses haben wir im Weiteren die relevanten Nachhaltigkeitsthemen für VAST FORWARD benannt und uns auf relevante, steuerbare Kriterien festgelegt – dabei zeigt sich eine Vielfalt von Themen, von zukunftsweisender “Green IT” bis zu “Pflanzen im Büro”.

Die Liste der wichtigsten Kriterien sind für die nachhaltige Zukunft von VAST FORWARD relevant – und sie sind auch Grundlage für die Prüfung und Abstimmung mit unserem erweiterten Team, unseren Stakeholdern; dem Netzwerk aus Kund*innen, Partner*innen, Lieferant*innen und Expert*innen. Sie alle sind Teil der VAST FORWARD Lieferkette und haben somit Einfluss auf unser Tagesgeschäft und auf unsere Unternehmensnachhaltigkeit.

Spezialist*innen Netzwerk, Stakeholder, Lieferkette – Wie prüfen und bewerten wir unsere Lieferketten ganz konkret?

Für die Stakeholder- und Partner Ansprache unterstützt uns Andrea, die bereits seit vielen Jahren im Bereich IT und Kommunikation tätig ist. Andrea erarbeitete in enger Abstimmung mit dem Management und der “Arbeitsgruppe Lieferkette” die Basis und das Vorgehen für die Partneransprache.

Das Ergebnis der Vorbereitung mit Andrea war eine Gesprächsbasis für das Projektmanagement Team, ein Leitfaden für die direkte Kommunikation auf Augenhöhe.
Aus unserer Kriterienliste priorisierten wir dafür 10 Themengebiete für die Erstellung eines Fragenkataloges. Andrea formulierte aus den 10 Bereichen ein Set an Fragen, die vor Beginn der Umfrage intern im Team getestet wurden. Anschließend haben wir in kurzen 1:1 Interviews die Fragen zu den Kriterien an unser Spezialist*innen-Netzwerk gestellt. Dabei ging es vom allgemeinen “Beschäftigt ihr euch im Unternehmen mit Nachhaltigkeit?” bis zur konkreten Anwendung von “Green Coding”.

Wir haben viel dabei gelernt und super spannende und vor allem aufschlussreiche Ergebnisse gesammelt, die wir in zusammengefasster Form in unserem Impact Report veröffentlicht haben.

Wir sind gespannt auf die nächste Runde der Befragung und hoffen, dass wir unser Netzwerk dazu anregen konnten, mit uns über die persönliche Nachhaltigkeit und die Nachhaltigkeit im Job nachzudenken.

Uns bringt das jedenfalls viel Freude und immer wieder Erfolgserlebnisse!
We Do Not Just Compensate!

RELATED ARTICLES

Apr 2022

VAST IMPACT REPORT

Mit unserem IMPACT Report wollen wir Vergleichbarkeit und Transparenz über unsere CSR Aktivitäten schaffen und erfüllen als KMU bereits heute Europäische Reporting Standards.

Jan 2021

VAST GREEN bekommt eine Strategie

Wie wir gemeinsam mit Alyssa Jade McDonald-Baertl aus unseren Leitlinien unsere Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie für VAST GREEN geformt haben.