1. August 2022
Julia Kriegel

Plastic Free July

Our VAST GREEN initiative is a true team project, we believe that real, sustainable change is only possible together. The question with long-running internal projects, however, is: How can we stay motivated as a team? 

Our approach in March 2022 was our VAST GREEN Team Challenge. 

We shared life hacks and suggestions around sustainability and mindfulness in a variety of very different tasks in our “GREEN Challenge”. We looked at ourselves and over each other’s shoulders in order to raise awareness for sustainable perspectives and on the way we shape our lives and make everyday decisions (https://vast-green.com/en/green-challenge-in-march/). 

Not only was the first GREEN Challenge a lot of fun, but it helped us continue to work towards our goal of the sustainable development of VAST FORWARD. 

In July, we launched a new challenge based on the concept of “Plastic Free July” – we call this challenge our “Plastic Free July Challenge”. 

The focus of our challenge was plastic avoidance, reuse and alternatives to the “convenience resource plastic”.

What’s actually behind Plastic Free July?

Founded by a small team in Western Australia in 2011, Plastic Free July has grown into one of the most impactful environmental campaigns worldwide. Each year, an estimated 140 million people across 190 countries participate in Plastic Free July and continue to pledge to reduce their plastic consumption to the greatest extent possible well beyond the month of July (https://www.plasticfreejuly.org/about-us/).

We were able to easily integrate the Challenge into our daily projects. Throughout July, we shared a new task, quiz or question in the VAST GREEN Slack channel. Every Monday, Wednesday and Friday, we openly shared our respective answers, images and inspirations with the team. We also shared the challenge on our Instagram channel, so our community could join the quiz or share suggestions and questions. 

Again, it was very exciting to take a close look at our everyday habits, identify patterns of use, and share how we as individuals can change our plastic consumption and reduce our dependence on plastic.

Some examples from our Challenge:

Thanks to the sailing project VAST FLOATING, the whole VAST FORWARD team has a special connection to the ocean. And we probably all know the pictures of plastic waste in the oceans and the stories of microplastics in food chains (you can find some data here: https://www.sea-help.eu/dies-das/plastik-plastikmuell-im-meer/). 

Therefore, we started our July challenge with the question how long different plastic objects, like plastic bottles or plastic bags need, to completely decompose in the ocean.The results were once again eye-opening and motivated us to rethink our own plastic consumption. 

So in the next step, we looked for alternatives on how we can avoid plastic packaging and commodities or how plastic products that cannot be avoided can be reused or given a “second life”. It was nice to see that as a team we are already doing a lot of things right in our everyday lives and live according to the principle “reduce, recycle and reuse”: Franzi showed us how she now makes products for her daily care or household products herself. In doing so, she looks at ingredients that are hidden in conventional products in great detail – we all learned a lot and we think it’s great! Go Franzi!

Of course, it was also about opening our eyes again in our own immediate surroundings and sensitizing ourselves on how much plastic waste can be found everywhere: our task for this was called “plogging” (https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plogging), collecting trash while jogging or walking. 

The good thing about plogging is the feeling of making a contribution, but also to see an effect right away: the amounts of trash we keep finding on streets, parks or at lakes are alarming.

In our second Challenge, we learned some new things, or rather, we were reminded of them again. This motivates us to continue with our sustainability initiative VAST GREEN – and to use our results within our community to make as many people as possible aware of the urgency of climate change and, in this case, the plastic problem. 

By the way, according to the founders of the Plastic Free July initiative, participating in the Challenge leads to the following results:

_ a reduction in household waste of 15 kg per person per year (3.5% less waste) 

_ a global reduction of 2.1 billion tons of waste and recycling, including 300 million kilograms of plastic consumption

_ 86% of people make changes that become a habit / lifestyle 

_ after 11 years, Plastic Free July has reduced demand for bottled water by 2.3%, fruit and vegetable packaging by 3.1%, and plastic straws by 4.0% (source: https://www.plasticfreejuly.org/about-us/

The numbers speak for themselves. We will definitely continue to replace plastic products as best we can and look for new alternatives. Do you have any other ideas or challenges for us? If so, feel free to get in touch via green@vast-forward.com.

Go green with VAST GREEN!

RELATED ARTICLES

Apr 2022

A strong Team through Work-life Blending

Sustainable management also includes addressing social sustainability. You can find out how VAST FORWARD implements this here in the blog post.

Apr 2022

Gender-appropriate communication

Gendering is not hype, but creates unambiguity and adequately represents all genders in language. Join us on our journey from generic masculine to the here and now.

1. August 2022
Julia Kriegel

Plastic Free July

Unsere VAST GREEN Initiative ist ein echtes Team-Projekt, und wir glauben, dass echte, nachhaltige Veränderung nur gemeinsam möglich ist. Die Frage bei lang laufenden internen Projekten ist aber: Wie können wir als Team motiviert bleiben? 

Unser Ansatz im März 2022 war unsere VAST GREEN Team Challenge. 

In ganz unterschiedlichen Aufgaben haben wir in unserer „GREEN Challenge“ Life-Hacks und Anregungen rund um die Themen Nachhaltigkeit und Achtsamkeit geteilt. Wir haben uns selbst auf die Finger und gegenseitig über die Schulter geguckt, um uns im Alltag für nachhaltige Perspektiven auf unsere Lebensgestaltung und -Entscheidungen zu sensibilisieren (https://vast-green.com/en/green-challenge-in-march/). 

Diese erste GREEN Challenge hat uns nicht nur viel Spaß gemacht, sondern hilft uns, mit Abwechslung und immer wieder überraschenden Insights an unserem Ziel, der nachhaltigen Entwicklung von VAST FORWARD, weiter zu arbeiten. 

Im Juli haben wir jetzt eine neue Challenge aufgelegt. Passend zum „Plastic Free July“- nennen wir sie die „Plastic Free July Challenge“. Fokus der Challenge waren Plastik-Vermeidung, -Wiederverwendung und -Alternativen zur “Convenience Ressource Plastik”. 

Aber was steckt eigentlich hinter dem Plastic Free July?

Gegründet wurde der Plastic Free July von einem kleinen Team in Westaustralien in 2011 – heute ist die Initiative zu einer der einflussreichsten Umweltkampagnen der Welt herangewachsen. Jedes Jahr nehmen schätzungsweise 140 Millionen Menschen aus 190 Ländern am Plastic Free July teil und verpflichten sich auch weit über dem Monat Juli hinaus dazu, ihren Plastikkonsum weitgehend zu reduzieren (https://www.plasticfreejuly.org/about-us/)

Die Challenge haben wir einfach in unseren Projektalltag integrieren können. Den gesamten Juli über teilten wir jeden Montag, Mittwoch und Freitag im VAST GREEN Slack-Channel eine neue Aufgabe, ein Quiz oder eine Frage, die wir mit unseren jeweiligen Antworten, Bildern und Inspirationen im Team offen geteilt haben. Begleitet haben wir die Challenge auch in unserem Instagram-Kanal, damit unsere Community miträtseln oder Anregungen sowie Fragen mit uns teilen konnte. 

Es war wieder sehr spannend, unsere Alltagsgewohnheiten genau anzuschauen,  Nutzungsgewohnheiten zu erkennen und uns darüber austauschen, wie wir als Einzelne unseren Plastik-Konsum ändern und unsere Abhängigkeit zur Ressource Plastik verringern können. 

Einige Beispiele aus unserer Challenge:

Durch das Segelprojekt VAST FLOATING haben wir als ganzes VAST FORWARD Team eine besondere Verbindung zum Ozean. Und wahrscheinlich kennen wir alle die Bilder von Plastikmüll in den Meeren und die Geschichten von Mikroplastik in den Nahrungsketten (einige Daten findet ihr hier: https://www.sea-help.eu/dies-das/plastik-plastikmuell-im-meer/ ). 

Gestartet haben wir unsere Juli-Challenge darum mit der Frage, wie lange verschiedene Plastikgegenstände, wie Plastikflaschen oder Plastiktüten, im Meer benötigen, bis sie sich vollständig zersetzt haben. Die Ergebnisse waren mal wieder augenöffnend und motivieren natürlich, unseren eigenen Plastik-Konsum zu überdenken. 

Also haben wir im nächsten Schritt nach Alternativen gesucht, wie wir Verpackungen und Gebrauchsgegenstände aus Plastik vermeiden können oder wie Plastik-Produkte, die sich nicht vermeiden lassen, wiederverwendet werden oder einem „zweiten Leben“ zugeführt werden können. Schön war zu sehen, dass wir als Team in unserem Alltag schon vieles richtig machen und nach dem Prinzip “reduce, recycle and reuse“ leben:

Franzi zeigte uns, wie sie Produkte zur täglichen Pflege oder Hausmittel mittlerweile selber herstellt. Sie befasst sich dabei bis ins Detail mit Inhaltsstoffen, die sich in herkömmlichen Produkten verstecken – so haben wir alle eine Menge dazugelernt! Wir finden das großartig! Go Franzi!

Natürlich ging es auch wieder darum, die Augen in der eigenen, direkten Umgebung aufzumachen und uns zu sensibilisieren, wie viel Plastikmüll überall zu finden ist: unsere Aufgabe dafür heißt “Plogging” (https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plogging), das Sammeln von Müll während des Joggens oder Spazierengehgens. 

Das Gute am Plogging ist natürlich das Gefühl, einen Beitrag zu leisten, aber auch, gleich einen Effekt zu sehen: die Mengen an Müll, den wir immer wieder auf Straßen, Parks oder an Seen finden, sind erschreckend.

Wir haben in unserer zweiten Challenge einiges an Neuem mitgenommen. Das motiviert uns, mit unserer Nachhaltigkeitsinitative VAST GREEN weiterzumachen – und mit unseren Ergebnissen in unserer Community gleich möglichst viele Menschen auf die Dringlichkeit des Klimawandels und in diesem Fall des Plastik-Problems aufmerksam zu machen. 

Nach Angaben von den Gründern des Plastic Free July’s führt die Teilnahme an der Challenge übrigens zu folgenden Ergebnissen:

_ eine Verringerung der Haushaltsabfälle um 15 kg pro Person und Jahr (3,5% weniger Abfall) 

_ weltweite Reduzierung von 2,1 Milliarden Tonnen Abfall und Recycling, einschließlich 300 Millionen Kilogramm Plastikverbrauch

_ 86% der Menschen nehmen Veränderungen vor, die zu einer Gewohnheit / einem Lebensstil werden 

_ nach 11 Jahren hat Plastic Free July die Nachfrage nach abgefülltem Wasser um 2,3%, nach Obst- und Gemüseverpackungen um 3,1% und nach Plastikstrohhalmen um 4,0% reduziert (Quelle: https://www.plasticfreejuly.org/about-us/

Die Zahlen sprechen für sich. Wir werden auf jeden Fall weitermachen, Plastikprodukte so gut es geht zu ersetzen und nach neuen Alternativen zu suchen. Habt ihr noch weitere Ideen oder eine weitere Challenge für uns? Wenn ja, dann meldet euch gern via green@vast-forward.com.

Grüne Kraft voraus mit VAST GREEN!

RELATED ARTICLES

Mrz 2022

Ein starkes Team durch Work-Life-Blending

Zum nachhaltigen Wirtschaften gehört ebenfalls die Auseinandersetzung mit sozialer Nachhaltigkeit. Wie VAST FORWARD dies umsetzt, erfahrt ihr hier im Blogpost.

Mrz 2022

Gendergerechte Kommunikation

Gendern ist kein Hype, sondern schafft Eindeutigkeit und repräsentiert alle Geschlechter adäquat in der Sprache. Begleitet uns gern auf unserer Reise vom generischen Maskulinum ins Hier und Jetzt.